logo
This is an empty menu. Please make sure your menu has items.
Business Duty Officer

The Investigative Committee wants to expedite the initiation of criminal cases on tax evasion

The Investigative Committee wants to expedite the initiation of criminal cases on tax evasion

After the outbreak of hostilities in Ukraine and the introduction of numerous sanctions, one of the first measures to support Russian business during the crisis was to reduce the risks of criminal prosecution for tax evasion. Президент России Владимир Путин в марте signed закон, который запрещает следователям самостоятельно заводить уголовные дела по налоговым преступлениям — поводом для них теперь могут быть только материалы налоговых органов. По закону ФНС, before handing over data on evaders to the Investigative Committee, must provide violators 2 months to pay off debt. As RTVI found out, The investigator is now seeking, so that the tax authorities transfer this data to them faster - without waiting for the 2 Months. Lawyers note, that this will increase the pressure on business, who previously used this time to seek funds to pay off debt.

What is the essence of the proposals of the Investigative Committee?
Till March 2022 years, the Investigative Committee itself could initiate criminal cases under articles 198-199 CC (tax evasion). For iexample, if during the investigation of cases of "cashing out", the investigator learned about non-payment of taxes by an entrepreneur. However 9 March Vladimir Putin signed the law, which forbade the UK to independently initiate criminal cases on tax crimes - now this can only be done with the approval of the tax authorities. Reducing the risks of criminal prosecution for tax evasion was one of the first measures to support businesses during the crisis after the start of the armed conflict in Ukraine.

Herewith, according to current legislation, The Federal Tax Service is obliged to provide tax evaders with the opportunity to settle accounts with the state and avoid any punishment - this is allotted 2 months. In case, if the debt is not repaid during this time, tax officials are required to submit materials to the Investigative Committee. Thus, criminal prosecution is now a last resort for tax violations.

As RTVI found out, The Investigative Committee seeks to, so that the tax authorities quickly transfer data on evaders - without waiting for the two months established by law. The initiative is being discussed by the UK and other relevant departments “for the prevention of certain cases”, four sources in the UK and one in the Prosecutor General's Office told RTVI. In particular, it is necessary to speed up the process in cases of malicious violations, explained one of the RTVI sources in the UK.

Already now, in practice, tax authorities often do not wait for the two months established by law and rather transfer materials for initiating criminal cases., Aleksey Ryabov, head of the legal expert center of the Commissioner for the Protection of the Rights of Entrepreneurs, told RTVI. Basically they wait two months, but in some regions they send materials to the UK earlier, confirms Ekaterina Avdeeva, head of the Delovaya Rossiya business association's expert center for criminal law policy and enforcement of judicial acts.

“Local tax inspectorates often require you to pay as soon as possible, referring to that, that they are instructed not to wait, until two months pass, and immediately transfer the materials to the investigation. Even if the entrepreneur has appealed additional tax assessments, and the verification decision has not yet entered into force", Vadim Zaripov, head of the analytical service of Pepeliaev Group, told RTVI.

Is that allowed?

The law obliges the tax authorities to send materials to the investigation, after two months, but it doesn't stop you from doing it earlier., explains Avdeeva: “Nothing prevents the tax authorities from launching the materials on the same day”. However, Ryabov takes the opposite position and says, that if the law says "obliged" - it means that the state body has no discretion in this matter.

“The initiation of a criminal case is an extraordinary measure.. The order of excitation should not follow from the interpretation, and from the direct norms of the law, - emphasizes Ryabov. - Justification of such practice with the help of the civil law principle "everything is allowed, what is not forbidden” is contrary to the very foundations of law. Otherwise, government agencies could write their documents in verse and use fonts, which cannot be seen without a microscope.

At the same time, the legislative consolidation of the practice of prematurely transferring materials to the investigation will open the way for power arbitrariness and undermine confidence in the course announced by the government for the freedom of business., considers Zaripov. “I calculated unbearable amounts and immediately in the UK, and there let the entrepreneur already think: pay or stay. Businessmen will become easier to blackmail, that the materials of the tax audit will immediately be handed over to the investigation”, says the lawyer.

Why the IC is quicker to initiate criminal cases?
It is important for any investigator to start an investigation as soon as possible., to gather evidence in hot pursuit, notes Ilya Kucherov, First Deputy Director of the Institute of Legislation and Comparative Law under the government.

Initiative driven by concerns, that in two months unscrupulous entrepreneurs will hide, withdraw assets, destroy documents, Ryabov believes. Besides, only the investigation has the right to determine whether the offender did not pay extra taxes intentionally or by mistake. "For this, you need to conduct interrogations., confrontation, searches and seize additional documents, which is only possible in a criminal case”, - emphasizes Kucherov. A criminal case allows forcibly delivering the offender to the investigator or restricting his movement, if there is reason to believe, that the suspect can escape.

Since the investigation now depends on the tax, increased risks of corruption, stresses the chief researcher of the Center for Public Administration Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences Sergey Maksimov: "SC is concerned about, that the changes created additional temptations for the tax authorities".

However, partner, Head of Tax Dispute Resolution Practice at Business Solutions and Technologies (former. Deloitte in the CIS) Anton Zykov sure, that “the only benefit from the accelerated transfer of materials to the Investigative Committee is the growth of statistical indicators of the work of investigators”. According to him, SC wants to increase the number of cases, which can be terminated in connection with the repayment of debt.

"The investigator will initiate a case, the entrepreneur will pay taxes in two months, then the SC will drop the case. From the outside it may seem, that the entrepreneur repaid the arrears solely as a result of the actions of the UK, which increases the importance of investigators in the work of filling the budget”, explained the tax lawyer.

The threat of a criminal case is unlikely to work for unscrupulous taxpayers, who were not willing to pay, sure Zykov, but for honest business it will complicate life. "Respite" in two months allows you to find funds to pay off the debt, borrow money or attract the help of the founders, agree Ryabov.

Alternative proposal
"Business Russia" proposes to strictly indicate in the law a reasonable and common period for all to pay off the debt to the budget, to get away from legal uncertainty. "Important, so that the entrepreneur knows exactly the time, during which he can pay the arrears and take advantage of the guarantee of non-initiation of criminal proceedings”, - Avdeeva emphasized.

Already after payment, if the taxpayer does not agree with the additional charges, he can try to recover his funds in the arbitration court, suggested Avdeeva: "The main thing, so that law enforcement practice does not equate the payment of arrears with an admission of guilt”. Delovaya Rossiya intends to formalize its position on the timing of the transfer of materials after discussion at a meeting of the expert center with the participation of the business community, law enforcement and interested departments 4 August, told Avdeeva.

The transfer of materials to the UK before two months can be challenged in court, thinks the lawyer, Partner of the consulting company "Nomen" Ivan Yagolovich: “Otherwise, such a proposal cannot be called a circumvention of the law”. But even the very fact of initiating a criminal case, even if it is later declared illegal, negatively impacts business, Ryabov emphasized: Banks are starting to refuse loans, partners break off relations, employees quit".

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Other news

Share this info. Choose a social media!

pro bono consultation

логотип
Это пустое меню. Пожалуйста, убедитесь, что в вашем меню есть пункты.
Дежурный по бизнесу

Следственный комитет хочет ускорить возбуждение уголовных дел о неуплате налогов

Следственный комитет хочет ускорить возбуждение уголовных дел о неуплате налогов

После начала боевых действий на Украине и введения многочисленных санкций, одной из первых мер поддержки российского бизнеса в кризис стало снижение рисков уголовного преследования за неуплату налогов. Президент России Владимир Путин в марте подписал закон, который запрещает следователям самостоятельно заводить уголовные дела по налоговым преступлениям — поводом для них теперь могут быть только материалы налоговых органов. По закону ФНС, прежде чем передавать данные об уклонистах Следственному комитету, обязана предоставлять нарушителям 2 месяца на погашение задолженности. Как выяснил RTVI, Следком теперь добивается того, чтобы налоговики передавали им эти данные быстрее — не дожидаясь установленных законом 2 месяцев. Юристы отмечают, что это увеличит давление на бизнес, который раньше использовал это время для поиска средств на погашение задолженности.

В чем суть предложений Следственного комитета?
До марта 2022 года Следственный комитет мог сам заводить уголовные дела по статьям 198-199 УК (уклонение от налогов). Например, если в ходе расследования дел об «обналичке», следователь узнавал о неуплате налогов со стороны какого-либо предпринимателя. Однако 9 марта Владимир Путин подписал закон, который запретил СК самостоятельно возбуждать уголовные дела по налоговым преступлениям — теперь это можно делать только с санкции налоговых органов. Снижение рисков уголовного преследования за неуплату налогов стало одной из первых мер поддержки бизнеса в кризис после старта вооруженного конфликта на Украине.

При этом, согласно действующему законодательству, ФНС обязана предоставлять неплательщикам налогов возможность рассчитаться с государством и избежать какого-либо наказания — на это отводится 2 месяца. В случае, если задолженность за это время не погашена, налоговики обязаны передавать материалы в Следственный комитет. Таким образом, уголовное преследование сейчас — это крайняя мера при налоговых нарушениях.

Как выяснил RTVI, Следственный комитет добивается того, чтобы налоговики быстрее передавали данные об уклонистах — не дожидаясь установленных законом двух месяцев. Инициативу обсуждают СК и другие профильные ведомства «для профилактики определенных случаев», рассказали RTVI четыре источника в СК и один в Генпрокуратуре. В частности, форсировать процесс нужно в случаях злостных нарушений, пояснил один из источников RTVI в СК.

Уже сейчас на практике налоговики часто не ждут установленных законом двух месяцев и скорее передают материалы для возбуждения уголовных дел, рассказал RTVI руководитель экспертно-правового центра уполномоченного при президенте по защите прав предпринимателей Алексей Рябов. В основном они выжидают два месяца, но в некоторых регионах направляют материалы в СК раньше, подтверждает руководитель экспертного центра бизнес-объединения «Деловая Россия» по уголовно-правовой политике и исполнению судебных актов Екатерина Авдеева.

«Налоговые инспекции на местах часто требуют платить как можно быстрее, ссылаясь на то, что у них есть указание не ждать, пока пройдет два месяца, и сразу передавать материалы следствию. Даже если предприниматель обжаловал доначисления налогов, и решение по проверке еще не вступило в силу», — рассказал RTVI руководитель аналитической службы «Пепеляев групп» Вадим Зарипов.

А так можно?

Закон обязывает налоговые органы направлять материалы следствию, выждав два месяца, но не запрещает сделать это раньше, поясняет Авдеева: «Ничто не мешает налоговым органам дать ход материалам в тот же день». Однако Рябов придерживается противоположной позиции и говорит, что если в законе написано «обязан» — значит у госоргана нет никакой свободы усмотрения в этом вопросе.

«Возбуждение уголовного дела — экстраординарная мера. Порядок возбуждения должен вытекать не из толкования, а из прямых норм закона, — подчеркивает Рябов. — Обоснование такой практики с помощью гражданско-правового принципа „разрешено все, что не запрещено“ противоречит самим основам права. В противном случае госорганы могли бы писать свои документы стихами и использовать шрифты, которые нельзя разглядеть без микроскопа».

При этом законодательное закрепление практики преждевременной передачи материалов следствию откроет дорогу властному произволу и подорвет доверие к объявленному правительством курсу на свободу бизнеса, считает Зарипов. «Донасчитал неподъемные суммы и сразу в СК, а там пусть предприниматель уже думает: платить или сидеть. Бизнесменов станет проще шантажировать тем, что материалы налоговой проверки сразу передадут следствию», — говорит адвокат.

Зачем СК быстрее возбуждать уголовные дела?
Любому следователю важно как можно скорее приступить к расследованию, чтобы собрать доказательства по горячим следам, отмечает первый заместитель директора Института законодательства и сравнительного правоведения при правительстве Илья Кучеров.

Инициатива продиктована опасениями, что за два месяца недобросовестные предприниматели скроются, выведут активы, уничтожат документы, полагает Рябов. К тому же, только следствие вправе определить — умышленно или по ошибке нарушитель не доплатил налоги. «Для этого нужно провести допросы, очные ставки, обыски и изъять дополнительные документы, что возможно только в рамках уголовного дела», — подчеркивает Кучеров. Уголовное дело позволяет принудительно доставить нарушителя к следователю или ограничить его передвижения, если есть основания полагать, что подозреваемый может скрыться.

Раз теперь расследование зависит от налоговой, выросли риски коррупции, подчеркивает главный научный сотрудник Центра исследований проблем госуправления РАН Сергей Максимов: «СК обеспокоен тем, что изменения создали дополнительные искушения для налоговиков».

Однако партнер, руководитель практики разрешения налоговых споров компании «Деловые решения и технологии» (бывш. Deloitte в СНГ) Антон Зыков уверен, что «единственная польза от ускоренной передачи материалов в СК — рост статистических показателей работы следователей». По его словам, СК хочет увеличить количество дел, которые можно будет прекратить в связи с погашением долга.

«Следователь будет возбуждать дело, за два месяца предприниматель доплатит налоги, затем СК прекратит дело. Со стороны может показаться, что предприниматель погасил недоимку исключительно в результате действий СК, что повышает значимость следователей в работе по наполнению бюджета», — объяснил налоговый адвокат.

Угроза уголовного дела вряд ли сработает для недобросовестных налогоплательщиков, которые и не собирались платить, уверен Зыков, а вот честному бизнесу это осложнит жизнь. «Передышка» в два месяца позволяет найти средства на погашение долга, занять деньги или привлечь помощь учредителей, согласен Рябов.

Альтернативное предложение
«Деловая Россия» предлагает строго указать в законе разумный и общий для всех период на погашение долга перед бюджетом, чтобы уйти от правовой неопределенности. «Важно, чтобы предприниматель точно знал срок, в течение которого он может оплатить недоимку и воспользоваться гарантией невозбуждения уголовного дела», — подчеркнула Авдеева.

Уже после оплаты, если налогоплательщик не согласен с доначислениями, он может попытаться взыскать свои средства в арбитражном суде, предложила Авдеева: «Главное, чтобы правоприменительная практика не приравнивала уплату недоимки к признанию вины». «Деловая Россия» намерена оформить свою позицию по срокам передачи материалов после обсуждения на заседании экспертного центра с участием делового сообщества, правоохранителей и заинтересованных ведомств 4 августа, рассказала Авдеева.

Передачу материалов в СК раньше двухмесячного срока можно будет оспорить в суде, считает адвокат, партнер консалтинговой компании «Номен» Иван Яголович: «Иначе как обходом закона такое предложение назвать нельзя». Но даже сам факт возбуждения уголовного дела, даже если впоследствии его признают незаконным, негативно влияет на бизнес, подчеркнул Рябов: «Банки начинают отказывать в кредитах, партнеры разрывают отношения, сотрудники увольняются».

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

Другие новости

Поделитесь информацией. Выберите свою соцсеть!

Консультация pro bono