logo
This is an empty menu. Please make sure your menu has items.
Business Duty Officer

Clarifications for bloggers in case of criminal prosecution

Clarifications for bloggers in case of criminal prosecution

27 On April, the well-known Russian blogger Elena Blinovskaya was detained. The investigating authorities opened a criminal case against Ms. Blinovskaya on the fact of non-payment of taxes. According to the investigation, Blinovskaya did not pay more to the treasury 918 million rubles. She was detained while trying to cross the border by car. Ambassador “business officer, Head of the Expert Center for Criminal Law Policy and Enforcement of Judicial Acts of "Business Russia", RANEPA Associate Professor Ekaterina Avdeeva commented on this burning topic.

– Law enforcement agencies have learned to recognize the illegal schemes of bloggers to evade the main tax system, and consequently, and from paying taxes, which are subject to deduction in the budget.

Running is the worst strategy, which bloggers can choose. Demonstrating attempts to hide from the investigation, they themselves create grounds for choosing a measure of restraint in the form of detention, when it comes to crimes of at least moderate gravity, what I would like to point out, that even a qualified staff. 198 The Criminal Code of the Russian Federation belongs to the category of minor gravity, now legalization (laundering) Money, acquired by a person in connection with the commission of a crime.

What gives such a strategy?

Firstly, a criminal case has already been initiated. Secondly, under the conditions of hiding the face, the statute of limitations for criminal liability is suspended. Finally, when, after years, the person returns to his homeland, it will face criminal liability. And finally, his money and accounts will still be seized, at the same time, the amount on them may even be higher than the tax arrears, and the amount of the tax arrears will still have to be paid.

Why create problems for yourself, that only lead the situation to a standstill, without solving it, leading to loss of social status, and loss of money, and the risk of exclusion from society in places of deprivation of liberty?

Such a strategy indicates either a low legal literacy of persons, or bad legal advice, which turned out to be not in favor of the persons who applied to them.

What to do?

"Pay your taxes and sleep easy" – this slogan is as relevant as ever. In this case, we can recommend now, before it's too late, demonstrate awareness of errors and submit an amended declaration or, if information has already been received from the tax authority with a requirement to pay arrears, make payment immediately. Even after the initiation of a criminal case, one can expect its termination or release from criminal punishment in connection with Art.. 28.1 Criminal Procedure Code of the Russian Federation and Art. 76.1 Criminal Code of the Russian Federation depending on the stage, on which the full payment of the tax arrears occurs.

Whose side is the law on?

Thanks to the amendments to the Criminal Procedure Code of the Russian Federation that entered into force in March 2023 years in case of payment of tax arrears before a decision is made to initiate a criminal case, a decision is made to refuse to initiate a criminal case.

Even if the taxpayer does not agree with the amount, then “can be challenged later on both sides and in the framework of arbitration proceedings, to prove one's point". This was stated by Russian President Vladimir Putin at the Business Russia forum in 2022 year, supporting the legislative initiative of Ekaterina Avdeeva.

How prevention works?

Random acts of individuals, persistent non-payment of taxes indicate low financial and legal literacy. To improve legal literacy, need to raise it, one of the channels is the largest business associations. It is on the platforms of business associations that active explanatory work is carried out, meetings and round tables are held with representatives of authorities, scientific community, experts and lawyers, in an open dialogue with which association members can consult, convey their problems and "pains" and offer ways to solve systemic issues.

For iexample, at the meetings of the Expert Center for Criminal Law Policy and Enforcement of Judicial Acts of "Business Russia" we regularly hold clarifications and meetings with representatives of law enforcement agencies and tax authorities, working out ways to protect the taxpayer, giving maximum explanations for them.

 

Other news

Share this info. Choose a social media!

pro bono consultation

логотип
Это пустое меню. Пожалуйста, убедитесь, что в вашем меню есть пункты.
Дежурный по бизнесу

Разъяснения для блогеров в случае уголовного преследования

Разъяснения для блогеров в случае уголовного преследования

27 апреля была задержана известный российский блогер Елена Блиновская. Следственные органы возбудили уголовное дело в отношении госпожи Блиновской по факту неуплаты налогов. По данным следствия, Блиновская не уплатила в казну более 918 млн рублей. Ее задержали при попытке пересечения границы на автомобиле. Амбассадор “Дежурного по бизнесу, руководитель Экспертного центра по уголовно-правовой политике и исполнения судебных актов «Деловой России», доцент РАНХиГС Екатерина Авдеева прокомментировала эту животрепещущую тему.

– Правоохранительные органы научились распознавать противоправные схемы блогеров по уклонению от основной системы налогообложения, а следовательно, и от уплаты налогов, которые подлежат отчислению в бюджет.

Бегство – это наихудшая стратегия, которую блогеры могут выбрать. Демонстрируя попытки сокрытия от следствия, они сами создают основания для избрания меры пресечения в виде заключения под стражу, если речь идет о преступлениях не ниже средней тяжести, при чем хотелось бы отметить, что даже квалифицированный состав ст. 198 УК РФ относится к категории небольшой тяжести, а вот уже легализация (отмывание) денежных средств, приобретенных лицом в связи совершения им преступления.

Что дает такая стратегия?

Во-первых, уголовное дело уже возбуждено. Во-вторых, в условиях сокрытия лица сроки давности привлечения к уголовной ответственности приостанавливаются. Наконец, когда по прошествии лет лицо вернется на родину, оно окажется перед лицом уголовной ответственности. Ну и наконец, его денежные средства и счета все равно будут арестованы, при этом сумма на них может быть даже выше налоговой недоимки, а сумма налоговой недоимки все равно придется оплатить.

Зачем создавать себе проблемы, которые только заводят ситуацию в тупик, никак ее не решая, приводя и к потере социального статуса, и потере денежных средств, и риску изоляции от общества в местах лишения свободы?

Такая стратегия свидетельствует либо о невысокой правовой грамотности лиц, либо о плохих советах юристов, которые оказались не на пользу обратившихся к ним лиц.

Что делать?

«Заплати налоги и спи спокойно» – этот слоган как никогда актуален. В данном случае можем порекомендовать сейчас, пока еще не поздно, продемонстрировать осознание ошибок и подать уточненную декларацию или, в случае если из налогового органа уже поступила информация с требованием об уплате недоимки, произвести оплату немедленно. Даже после возбуждения уголовного дела можно ожидать его прекращения или освобождения от уголовного наказания в связи со ст. 28.1 УПК РФ и ст. 76.1 УК РФ в зависимости от стадии, на которой происходит полная уплата налоговой недоимки.

На чьей стороне закон?

Благодаря вступившим в законную силу поправкам в УПК РФ в марте 2023 года в случае уплаты налоговой недоимки до принятия решения о возбуждении уголовного дела, выносится постановление об отказе в возбуждении уголовного дела.

Даже если налогоплательщик не согласен с суммой, то «можно оспорить потом с обеих сторон и в рамках арбитражного разбирательства, доказывать свою правоту». Об это заявил Президент РФ Владимир Путин на форуме «Деловой России» в 2022 году, поддержав законодательную инициативу Екатерины Авдеевой.

Как работает профилактика?

Беспорядочные действия отдельных лиц, настойчивая неуплата налогов свидетельствуют о невысокой финансово-правовой грамотности. Чтобы правовая грамотность была на высоте, нужно ее повышать, один из каналов – это крупнейшие деловые объединения. Именно на площадках деловых объединений ведется активная разъяснительная работа, проводятся заседания и круглые столы с представителями органов власти, научного сообщества, экспертами и юристами, в открытом диалоге с которыми члены объединений могут проконсультироваться, донести свои проблемы и «боли» и предложить пути решения системных вопросов.

Например, на заседаниях Экспертного центра по уголовно-правовой политике и исполнению судебных актов «Деловой России» мы регулярно проводим разъяснения и встречи с представителями силовых ведомств и налоговых органов, вырабатывая пути для защиты налогоплательщика, давая максимальные разъяснения для них.

 

Другие новости

Поделитесь информацией. Выберите свою соцсеть!

Консультация pro bono