logo
This is an empty menu. Please make sure your menu has items.
Business Duty Officer

SPBILF experts suggested, How to distinguish between non-performance of a contract and fraud

SPBILF experts suggested, How to distinguish between non-performance of a contract and fraud

What legislative changes and clarifications of the Plenum of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation are required to distinguish between cases of non-fulfillment of contractual obligations and fraud - such issues were discussed by experts in Petersburg International Legal Forum on Saturday.

The discussion was held at the SPBILF session “Non-fulfillment of a contract or fraud? The problem of qualification". According to the moderator, Vadim Zaripov, Head of Analytical Service at Pepeliaev Group Law Firm, the work of the session was held in a progressive and more stressful format than usual.

First, each of the experts 5 minutes indicated the key problem in his opinion, further, in the format of a kind of consultation, they all made their proposals to change the situation. Then, in a specially created Telegram channel "Non-fulfillment of the contract or fraud", a vote was held for each of the proposals.

"All this will be used. We will process, we will present to the organizing committee of the forum, submit to the Ministry of Justice, in which, as you know, a working group was created to improve criminal legislation, maybe even reform, how will it go", – said at the end of the session Zaripov.

Expert suggestions

Professor of the Department of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penitentiary Law of the St. Petersburg Law Institute (branch) of the University of the Prosecutor's Office of the Russian Federation, Roman Sharapov proposed to supplement the Code of Criminal Procedure of the Russian Federation with a rule stating that, which cannot serve as a basis for initiating criminal cases under article 159 (fraud) parts 5-7 the very fact of non-fulfillment of contractual obligations in the field of entrepreneurial activity in the absence of sufficient data, indicating the intentional nature of such non-performance.

Lecturer at the Department of Taxes and Tax Administration, Financial University under the Government of the Russian Federation Danil Levchenko proposed to establish in the Criminal Procedure Code of the Russian Federation a direct ban on initiating criminal cases under article 159 of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation, if there is a valid economic and legal transaction in the relations of a business with another business and a business with the state, until then, until it is recognized by the court as invalid on the grounds of Article 178 (transaction invalidity, committed under the influence of a fundamental mistake) and parts 2 articles 179 (deal, committed under the influence of deceit, may be declared invalid by the court on the claim of the victim) Civil Code of the Russian Federation.

Head of the Department of Entrepreneurship, competition and financial law, Professor of the Department of Criminal Law of the Siberian Federal University Irina Shishko considers it necessary to clarify, what if the state contract is executed in full and with proper quality, but the price of the contract is much higher than the market value, then it is possible to recognize the receipt by the contractor of payment under the contract as fraud only if it is established that he is colluding with the customer in order to establish an unreasonably high price of the contract, significantly higher than the average industry profitability.

Besides, Shishko offered to clarify, that the receipt of payment on the basis of the acceptance certificate signed by the parties for the work performed before their actual performance cannot be recognized as fraud, if the work stipulated by the state contract subsequently (but until this fact is revealed by law enforcement agencies) were carried out in full with proper quality assurance. The expert believes, that there is no "direct" positive damage inherent in fraud.

Head of the Expert Center for Criminal Law Policy and Enforcement of Judicial Acts of the All-Russian Public Organization "Business Russia", ambassador “business officer” Ekaterina Avdeeva suggested explaining to the law enforcement officer, what if the counterparty does not hide and does not hide his property, no signs of theft.

Natalya Ryabova, Deputy Head of the Expert and Legal Center of the Commissioner for the Protection of the Rights of Entrepreneurs under the President of the Russian Federation, proposed to provide for in the Code of Criminal Procedure of the Russian Federation the suspension of a pre-investigation check or preliminary investigation until the resolution of an economic dispute with the establishment of signs of bad faith by one of the parties. The decision in such a case should have a prejudicial value in the absence of evidence of falsification of the evidence presented in court..

Maxim Arzamastsev, Associate Professor of the Department of Criminal Law of the Law Faculty of St. Petersburg State University, considers it necessary to introduce the so-called rule of three "O", according to which, in order to establish fraud, it is simultaneously necessary:

– deception, reaching the level, when, if truthful information was provided to the counterparty, the contract would not have been concluded;

– objective and inherently existing impossibility to fulfill the obligations assumed by the person and his awareness of this fact;

– lack of economic grounds for obtaining economic benefits, that is, for this person, the transaction had no independent meaning, but it was just a cover for the crime.

Commissioner for the Protection of the Rights of Entrepreneurs in the Sverdlovsk Region, Elena Artyukh, proposed to enshrine in the Code of Criminal Procedure of the Russian Federation, that a criminal case on deliberate non-fulfillment of contractual obligations in the field of entrepreneurial activity cannot be initiated until all civil law remedies and liability measures have been exhausted, as well as in case of persisting unrecoverable damage. And also to fix in the Code of Criminal Procedure the impossibility of initiating criminal cases in the contract procurement system without a statement from a public customer.

Besides, Artyukh proposed to exclude from the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation special compositions of "entrepreneurial" fraud (parts 5-7 articles 159 CC RF), which provide for criminal liability for willful failure to fulfill contractual obligations.

Commissioner for the Protection of the Rights of Entrepreneurs in the Tver Region Anton Stamplevsky proposed to organize the production of an electronic criminal case, and also ensure the equality of the parties in the appointment of an examination by granting the right to get acquainted with the materials, sent to the expert, and by introducing mandatory motivation when declining questions from the defense side to the expert.

 

Other news

Share this info. Choose a social media!

pro bono consultation

логотип
Это пустое меню. Пожалуйста, убедитесь, что в вашем меню есть пункты.
Дежурный по бизнесу

Эксперты ПМЮФ предложили, как разграничить неисполнение договора и мошенничество

Эксперты ПМЮФ предложили, как разграничить неисполнение договора и мошенничество

Какие законодательные изменения и разъяснения Пленума Верховного суда РФ требуются для разграничения случаев неисполнения договорных обязательств и мошенничества − такие вопросы обсудили эксперты в Петербургском международном юридическом форуме в субботу.

Дискуссия прошла на сессии ПМЮФ «Неисполнение договора или мошенничество? Проблема квалификации». По словам модератора, руководителя аналитической службы юридической компании «Пепеляев Групп» Вадима Зарипова, работа сессии проходила в прогрессивном и более стрессовом нежели обычно формате.

Сначала каждый из экспертов за 5 минут обозначал ключевую по его мнению проблему, далее в формате своеобразного консилиума все они вносили свои предложения по изменению ситуации. Затем в специально созданном Telegram-канале «Неисполнение договора или мошенничество» прошло голосование за каждое из предложений.

«Все это будет использовано. Мы обработаем, представим оргкомитету форума, представим в Минюст, в котором, как вы знаете, создана рабочая группа по совершенствованию уголовного законодательства, а может быть и реформированию, как пойдет», – сказал по итогам сессии Зарипов.

Предложения экспертов

Профессор кафедры уголовного права, криминологии и уголовно-исполнительного права Санкт-Петербургского юридического института (филиала) Университета прокуратуры РФ Роман Шарапов предложил дополнить УПК РФ нормой о том, что не может служить основанием для возбуждения уголовных дел по статье 159 (мошенничество) частям 5-7 сам факт неисполнения договорных обязательств в сфере предпринимательской деятельности в отсутствие достаточных данных, указывающих на преднамеренный характер такого неисполнения.

Преподаватель департамента налогов и налогового администрирования, Финансового университета при правительстве РФ Данил Левченко предложил установить в УПК РФ прямой запрет на возбуждение уголовных дел по статье 159 УК РФ при наличии в отношениях бизнеса с другим бизнесом и бизнеса с государством действующей хозяйственно-правовой сделки до тех пор, пока пока она не будет признана судом недействительной по основаниям статьи 178 (недействительность сделки, совершенной под влиянием существенного заблуждения) и части 2 статьи 179 (сделка, совершенная под влиянием обмана, может быть признана судом недействительной по иску потерпевшего) ГК РФ.

Заведующий кафедрой предпринимательского, конкурентного и финансового права, профессор кафедры уголовного права Сибирского федерального университета Ирина Шишко считает необходимым разъяснить, что если госконтракт выполнен в полном объеме и с обеспечением надлежащего качества, но цена контракта значительно выше рыночной стоимости, то признать получение исполнителем оплаты по контракту мошенничеством можно только при установлении его сговора с заказчиком с целью установления необоснованно высокой цены контракта, значительно превышающей среднеотраслевую рентабельность.

Кроме того, Шишко предложила разъяснить, что получение оплаты на основе подписанного сторонами акта приема-передачи выполненных работ до их фактического выполнения не может признаваться мошенничеством, если предусмотренные госконтрактом работы впоследствии (но до выявления этого факта правоохранительными органами) были выполнены в полном объеме с обеспечением надлежащего качества. Эксперт считает, что здесь нет присущего мошенничеству «прямого» положительного ущерба.

Руководитель экспертного центра по уголовно-правовой политике и исполнению судебных актов Общероссийской общественной организации «Деловая Россия», амбассадор “Дежурного по бизнесу” Екатерина Авдеева предложила разъяснить правоприменителю, что если контрагент не скрывается и не скрывает свое имущество, признаков хищения не имеется.

Заместитель руководителя экспертно-правового центра Уполномоченного при президенте РФ по защите прав предпринимателей Наталья Рябова предложила предусмотреть в УПК РФ приостановление доследственной проверки или предварительного следствия до разрешения экономического спора с установлением признаков недобросовестности одной из сторон. Решение по такому делу должно иметь преюдициальное значение при отсутствии доказательств подложности представленных в суде доказательств.

Доцент кафедры уголовного права юридического факультета СПбГУ Максим Арзамасцев считает необходимым внедрить так называемое правило трех «О», согласно которому для установления мошенничества одновременно необходимы:

– обман, достигающий уровня, когда при сообщении правдивых сведений контрагенту договор не был бы заключен;

– объективная и существующая изначально невозможность выполнения принимаемых лицом обязательств и осознание им этого факта;

– отсутствие экономических оснований для получения экономической выгоды, то есть для этого лица сделка не имела самостоятельного смысла, а была лишь прикрытием преступления.

Уполномоченный по защите прав предпринимателей в Свердловской области Елена Артюх предложила закрепить в УПК РФ, что уголовное дело о преднамеренном неисполнении договорных обязательств в сфере предпринимательской деятельности не может быть возбуждено до исчерпания всех гражданско-правовых способов защиты и мер ответственности, а также в случае сохранения невозмещенного ущерба. А также закрепить в УПК невозможность возбуждения уголовных дел в контрактной системе закупок без заявления публичного заказчика.

Кроме того, Артюх предложила исключить из УК РФ специальные составы «предпринимательского» мошенничества (части 5-7 статьи 159 УК РФ), которыми предусматривается уголовная ответственность о преднамеренном неисполнении договорных обязательств.

Уполномоченный по защите прав предпринимателей в Тверской области Антон Стамплевский предложил организовать производство электронного уголовного дела, а также обеспечит равенство сторон при назначении экспертизы путем предоставления права знакомиться с материалами, направляемыми эксперту, и путем введения обязательной мотивировки при отклонении вопросов стороны защиты эксперту.

 

Другие новости

Поделитесь информацией. Выберите свою соцсеть!

Консультация pro bono